Add users and Google Groups to domain-restricted Google+ Communities


We’re adding the ability to directly add users and Google Groups as members of Google+ Communities. When a moderator adds a group, group members are automatically added to the community. Subsequent updates to the group membership are automatically reflected in the community membership.

This feature is off by default. As a G Suite admin, you can turn it on for certain users, turn it on for certain organizational units (OUs), or turn it on for everyone in your domain.

To enable this setting for select users, open the Admin console and go to Admin Roles. After selecting the appropriate user role, click “Privileges” and scroll to "Google+,” where you can then configure the “Batch-add user groups to communities" privilege for that role.

If you’d like to enable this setting for an OU or everyone in your domain, in the Admin console go to Apps > G Suite > Google+ > Advanced Settings. Here, check the "Adding users directly" checkbox.

Please note: This feature will only be supported on domain-restricted communities. Additionally, users, groups, and group members that aren't part of the same domain as the community and users that have been banned from the community won't be added.

Check out the Help Center for more information on adding Google Groups to Google+ Communities.

Launch Details
Release track:
Launching to both Rapid Release and Scheduled Release

Editions:
Available to all G Suite editions

Rollout pace:
Full rollout (1–3 days for feature visibility)

Impact:
Admins and all end users

Action:
Admin action suggested/FYI

More Information
Help Center: Allow owners or moderators to add users directly
Help Center: Moderate a Community

Launch release calendar
Launch detail categories
Get these product update alerts by email
Subscribe to the RSS feed of these updates





Source link

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!